Introduction to the Astrology of the Solar System (part 1)

Summarise the Solar System? Are you crazy? This is not a summary, just a quick and dirty overview of the planets from an astrological point of view.


Also, here we’re just looking at the 7 traditional planets plus the 3 planets discovered past the orbit of Saturn. The other stuff: asteroids, centaurs, Trans-Neptunian Objects will be introduced in another article.

But here we divide the planets into 4 groups


as follows:

Sun and Moon

The Sun and Moon are not planets, they are known as luminaries. They characterise us at the PERSONAL level.

The moon is what we are born with, what we grow up with. It deals with our needs, how our own needs are met and how we respond to the needs of others. It can be described as the principle of nurturing. It operates largely outside of our conscious control. It is our automatic, instinctual response to situations.



The sun is the principle of consciousness, what we wake up to, what we grow into, what we strive to become. It is the only source of light in the solar system. All the other bodies – planets, moons, asteroids and centaurs – reflect the light of the sun.


Mercury, Venus and Mars

Mercury, Venus and Mars are the INTERPERSONAL planets. They deal with how we relate to each other as individuals.

Mercury deals with communication: the sharing of ideas and information, the education of the child into the language it needs. Also the trade of goods and services.




Venus is the principle of attraction based on our appreciation of beauty and desire. It gives us our sense of value, what we hold dear, what we will pay for and what we will fight to preserve.



Mars is physical energy and the animal connection. It may manifest as sexual chemistry or as the urge to compete.


Jupiter and Saturn

Jupiter and Saturn are the SOCIAL planets. They describe the ways we bring up a child into society.

Jupiter encourages, says “Come on you can do it!”
With Jupiter we have our goals and aspirations, our urge to grow, travel and explore.



Saturn admonishes and warns, says “No don’t do that! That’s wrong, that’s dangerous.”
Saturn gives us limits, teaches us control through discipline, gives us a sense of what is real and what is not.


Uranus, Neptune and Pluto

The outer planets, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto were not known to the ancient world and were only discovered with the aid of technology. Their influence goes beyond the personal and the social, being TRANSPERSONAL and generational.

Uranus breaks the limiting protective shell of Saturn with its rules, conventions and social norms. It thinks ‘out of the box’ because it doesn’t recognise any box. It invents, it makes new. Its action is sudden because it has nothing to do with linear time.



Neptune is imagination, our gateway to the infinite. It dissolves the boundaries between inner and outer, between self and other, asks “Is this the real life? Is this just fantasy?” Presents us with the universal context of our existence, the cosmic ocean in which we swim.



Named after the lord of the underworld in Roman mythology, Pluto is concerned with “Tod und Verklärung” – death and transfiguration, the cycle of life. It is the use of power to create or destroy. Socially it is the power of taboo and the breaking of taboos.



Please note that these descriptions of the planets are merely sketches – there is much more to say for each of them.

See part 2 for an introduction to the asteroids, centaurs and Trans-Neptunian Objects. When I’ve written it!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your form submission was successful.

Thank you for your message to

If we can help we’ll reply as soon as we can